Turnstone

Turnstone at Bull Island, Dublin
(C) Marta Stoklosa

Turnstone at Bull Island, Dublin

Here it is… my second post.
I feel that my last post might have been a little bit too serious. So it might be nice to to write something light hearted this time. Secondly, it might be useful to say something about the name of my blog. Even though this is supposed to be a photographic blog, the name I picked is not really related to photography. So, where does ‘Turnstone’ come from and how did it make its way into my blog? To be precise, a Turnstone is a bird from Scandinavia but is a winter visitor to Ireland. It is a member of the Wader family living on muddy or sandy ground as well as on coastal rocks. It is soft, fluffy, noisy and hyperactive, just like me – or so my friends say. As bird watching and wildlife photography are among my hobbies, and will definitely be appearing on this blog in future, I decided to let a little Turnstone fly into my blog’s name and settle down after the word ‘Sea’. Someone else had already taken the name ‘Turnstone’ by itself. Curse them whoever they are!

Turnstone at Tory Island, Co Donegal - summer plumage
(C) Marta Stoklosa

Turnstone at Tory Island, Co Donegal

One thought on “Turnstone”

  1. I see that the Turnstone on your photo from Tory Island has summer plumage. Nevertheless, the picture shows how well camouflaged he is. Do we win a prize for being able to spot him?

    Like

Leave a Reply

