Proud Mummy

I have been taking pictures as long as I can remember, but it was only last week that I took the first picture that could be considered entirely mine. I did everything from the moment of putting the film into the camera right up to fishing the print out of the processing tray. It was quite hard work but the satisfaction at the end was really great.  Even though I processed my film after I had had my first class in film processing, I still didn’t have much idea what to do with it. Then the ‘trauma’ in the dark room began – a few of us, closed up in the small pitch dark room squabbling, swearing, screaming, trying to roll our films onto the spools without dropping them on the dusty floor, stubbing anybody else with the scissors or punching each other by accident.  Fortunately nothing totally disastrous happened and everybody’s film was fine. Finally we got round to printing. After a few hours of breathing in the chemicals, messing with the enlargers, a few more or less successful contact sheets printed and long minutes of focus finding I got my first proper print. It isn’t perfect, I still need hours, days, weeks of practice but at least the first proper step has been taken.

(C) Marta Stoklosa

Trinity Bicycles

3 thoughts on “Proud Mummy”

Leave a Reply

