White Collar Crime

It has been a few months since I was last in the darkroom. Now, although the exams are over, I still actually have access to the college facilities. I felt that it was high time that I worked little bit more on printing. To my surprise I managed to prepare all the chemicals without any major problems or disasters. Back in the darkroom my first task was to print the picture I had promised to give to a friend. The subject of this picture is the “White Collar Crime” sculpture by Jackie Ball that was presented at an exhibition at the Dublin Botanic Gardens in October 2012. The sculpture refers to the present economic situation in Ireland and focuses on the people responsible for the banking crisis. The shirts include the names of prominent bankers. The choice of work shirts was quite deliberate and refers to a popular joke that circulated at the start of the banking crisis in 2008 and 2009:

Q: What is the definition of an optimist?
A: An Irish banker who irons five shirts on Sunday night.

Taking this picture was a challenge as the sunshine was very strong and created very dark shadows. Although I tried to burn the light parts of the picture, the result was never too good. Today I took the time to tackle this picture again. After many attempts, I still have not produced the picture of my dreams, however, the final result was definitely better than my previous efforts a few month ago.

IMG_9801Photograph by Marta Stoklosa of sculpture by Jackie Ball.

Leave a Reply

