Sculpture in Context 2013

So the time has come and my favourite contemporary art exhibition in Dublin is now in progress. This year the National Botanic Gardens, Glasnevin hosts the “Sculpture In Context” exhibition for the twelfth time. I think it is really good idea to bring art outside museum walls. The sculptures are exhibited in the greenhouses and grounds of the Botanic Gardens and often coexist with the surrounding natural environment. I find it very challenging but funny to photograph the works of art exhibited during this event. My purpose is not only to photographically document what I see but also to make my images add something to these projects. In this case, the environment where they are shown creates many possibilities to play with. This year I don’t think I came across a work of art I liked as much as Jackie Ball’s “White Collar Crime” of 2012 (mentioned in one of my older posts), however, there were a few very interesting sculptures.

Leave a Reply

