The Possessions that Describe Me

I’ve recently been sorting through the contents of my computer and had a look at my college assignments in photography. I thought it might be fun to put some of these in my blog.

The topic of my college assignment in Applied Photography was “Possessions”. The pictures below come from a minor exercise intended to prepare us for the assignment. For this task we were supposed to take five pictures showing items we own that would describe us. The pictures had to be taken in our living environment. I tried to find a few of my possessions that represented my interests, character, work and the things I just enjoy. I could have done more as far as the set-up of the pictures is concerned, however, my small bedsit did not give me many options.
My idea was to make compositions using just a few items. Having the same background and similar set-up for all the pictures helped to make them visually consistent. The same or similar items used in more than one picture linked them to each other.

The first picture represents “Photography”. This theme is represented by my old film camera and a few test prints that I made during the darkroom classes at college. I have always liked black and white photography and actually switched very late to using a digital camera. Therefore, I thought that these possessions were perfect in representing my interest in photography.

(C) Marta Stoklosa
(C) Marta Stoklosa

The second picture of a pair of binoculars and a bird book represents “Wildlife”. I have always had pets at home in Poland, however, it is not possible for me to have any in Dublin. Birdwatching is a substitute for having pets and is one of my favourite pastimes. The camera and binoculars are both optical devices and are supposed to link these two pictures. Wildlife photography is something that I definitely want to look into in the future.

(C) Marta Stoklosa
(C) Marta Stoklosa

The book in the second picture is a linking element with the next picture representing “Poland” – the country that I come from. The book “God’s Playground – A History of Poland” by Norman Davies refers to my past in Poland. I have also included some Polish banknotes, many of which are not in circulation anymore. The reason that I picked the banknotes instead of other items concerns the fact that I work in a bank.

(C) Marta Stoklosa
(C) Marta Stoklosa

The book is also a linking element to the fourth picture representing “Exploring”. The possessions used in this image are the world atlas, my passport and my hiking boots. They are supposed to symbolise my love for backpacking, discovering foreign cultures and meeting new people. The Polish passport, on the other hand, relates to the previous picture representing my Polish origins.

(C) Marta Stoklosa
(C) Marta Stoklosa

The last picture represents “Ireland” as I have been living in this country for nearly 10 years now. I have enjoyed ceili dancing for many years, hence my dancing shoes in the picture. The tin whistle was included in the image for two reasons. First, to show that I am interested in Irish traditional music and, secondly, to put the shoes in their proper context.

(C) Marta Stoklosa
(C) Marta Stoklosa

What possessions would you pick to represent yourself? Let me know.

One thought on “The Possessions that Describe Me”

Leave a Reply

