Home Sweet Home

I haven’t posted anything for quite a long time but there was a good reason for it; I was moving from Dublin to Balbriggan. After 10 years of renting rooms or apartments I finally got my own place. My boss said that getting divorced and getting a mortgage were the two most stressful things in a person’s life. The first one can be avoided by not getting married in the first place but I had little choice but to deal with the second one.

The last few weeks were quite hectic and therefore I didn’t have much opportunity to take pictures. Most of my time and energy was spent on moving all my things, painting the house and assembling the flatpack furniture. But after a few weeks the house became inhabitable. Having said that, with my lack of technical skills and the amount of the left over screws, my house is now a serious health and safety hazard.

The entire move wouldn’t have been possible without the help of my friends. To say “Thank you” for all their help I made the following photographic cards for particular people. I thought it’d be nice to share them on my blog, however, they are very personalised and therefore need a little explaining.

These pictures were created by merging two separate images. The first image shows the front of my house, the other image is different in each case. The second image reflects the kind of help I was given by the particular person in getting my new place.

This card, probably the most general one, was prepared for my parents to thank them for all the help they gave me in getting the house.

(C) Marta Stoklosa
(C) Marta Stoklosa

The house I bought was actually found by a work colleague who lives in Balbriggan and therefore the picture shows a map of the town with a magnifying glass.

(C) Marta Stoklosa
(C) Marta Stoklosa

The card showing a map of Balbriggan and the image of cars was made for my friends who moved all my stuff from Dublin to Balbriggan.

(C) Marta Stoklosa
(C) Marta Stoklosa

This card shows storage boxes and was made for the people who stored all my clutter during for a couple of weeks during my move.

(C) Marta Stoklosa
(C) Marta Stoklosa
Finally, there is a picture of a folding bed merged with the image of the house. This card was given to a friend who let me stay in his place during the two weeks after I moved out from my old place and before I was able to move into the new one.
(C) Marta Stoklosa
(C) Marta Stoklosa
Leave a Reply

