Farewell to Portobello

I’ve been living in Dublin for nearly 10 years now. For the last 4 years I’ve lived in the Rathmines/Portobello area. I’ve just moved away to Balbriggan. I feel a little sentimental about my former home as this was the first place that I had a flat on my own and didn’t have to share with anybody else. Having said that, the apartment was so small that I had to go outside to be able to turn around. The biggest advantage of living there was its proximity to the city centre. However, the condition of the old tenement houses wasn’t great.

Another reason for my nostalgia is that I have many memories connected with the place. Funny and not so funny memories include being woken up by the upstairs neighbour playing drums at 7 am on Sunday (after I went to sleep at around 4am) or being woken up by a stream of water falling into my bed from the flat above. But it wasn’t all my neighbours annoying me. Once I managed to turn on the fire alarm at 5am. I was pleasantly surprised when none of my neighbours jumped out carrying a rifle.

When I left the place I took a few snapshots of the places and things that I will associate with my time living in Portobello. There are definitely many things I’ll miss about the place e.g. Devitts, a local pub with great traditional Irish music, and tea and lunches in Wall & Keogh. I’ll also miss the local school of music and the associated sound of violins and clarinets being slowly murdered there.

On the doorstep.

(C) Marta Stoklosa
(C) Marta Stoklosa

The Wall & Keogh tea shop.

(C) Marta Stoklosa
(C) Marta Stoklosa

Mate and lunch.

(C) Marta Stoklosa
(C) Marta Stoklosa

The Devitts

(C) Marta Stoklosa
(C) Marta Stoklosa

The door of the music school

(C) Marta Stoklosa
(C) Marta Stoklosa

The most beautiful house in the street

(C) Marta Stoklosa
(C) Marta Stoklosa
Leave a Reply

