Polska Éire

Sunday the 29th of March was a quiet Sunday, which I don’t have too often. As I’m the sort of person who is not able to remain idle for more than two hours, I grabbed my camera and headed off to Dublin city centre. First, I went to the flea market, not just to take pictures but to search through the vintage clothes and other useless things that I love to pile around my house. Unfortunatelly, the market turned out to be a bit of disappointment so I dragged myself towards Temple Bar.

I’d heard earlier that a Polish-Irish market was going to take place at Temple Bar that day but all the information about the Polska Éire festival that I could find online was very vague. So I didn’t think it would be worth going to. To my surprise, when I entered Meeting Square I saw a stall with very familiar craft goods and a friend of mine selling them. I decided to stay for “a minute” and have a look around.

The minute lasted 3 hours. There were two bands performing during the event. Unfortnately, I didn’t manage to get the name of the first one playing Irish ballads. The second band, called Supertonic Orchestra, played Polish traditional music with elements of klezmer music and jazz. These two bands were enough to keep me there till the end.

At the end of the event my belly was full of bigos (a typical Polish dish made of cabbage, sauerkraut, different kinds of meat, mushrooms and whatever else the cook can find) and I was the happy owner of two egg cups, a woolen cap and an angel (OK, the angel is a gift for somebody else but I still have it). I also managed to take a few images of the bands playing during the event, the stalls of Pottery Corner, and Fiku, as well as the Minister of State for New Communities, Culture and Equality, Aodhán Ó Riordáin T.D. and the Charge D’affaires attached to the Polish Embassy Piotr Rakowski.

Leave a Reply

