Sintra – The Palace of Pena

When I visited Lisbon a few years ago I came across a leaflet about Sintra. It looked really tempting but I didn’t have enough time and decided to concentrate on Lisbon. Later I heard very different opinions about the place, so I definitely had to go there this time to check it out. Now I’m sure that I’d love to go there again.
The town is beautifully surrounded by hills and its castles look as if they were taken from a fairy tale.

The Palace of Pena was built between 1842 and 1854 by Queen Maria II and completed in 1885 by King Consort Ferdinand II, known as the Artist King. Like his cousin Prince Albert, who married Queen Victoria of Great Britain, Ferdinand loved art and nature and was also interested in the new inventions of the time.

2 thoughts on “Sintra – The Palace of Pena”

Leave a Reply

